Fashion Job listings

http://www.fashionsnap.com/career/

Have a look at this list for info on jobs in the fashion industry in Japan. Most of the jobs are in Visual Merchandising, PR, Brand Planning, HR, Shop staff, Online Marketing, even a posting for a job as a tailor! You’ll note when looking through the postings that a patternmaker is offered more pay in Japan more (generally) than a designer,

I’m from Canada, so I am used to creating my own resume format. When I want to apply for a job back home, I could make up my own style for the presentation of myself and my skills. The golden rule: “BE PROFESSIONAL”, whatever that means. When I was 16 my friend Devon made me a resume that had a big sun in the corner. It was awesome.

In Japan, however, there is a standard form for resumes/CVs called a Rirekisho (履歴書). Please fill that out and send it to every company you want to apply to UNLESS they have their own standard form, in which case you will need to fill that out. Often by hand (I suggest that you do it once in pencil, then again in pen). Have a look at this great site, or this one, or this one, or this one, look it up yourself, and feel free to ask me any questions!

Happy Hunting!

rirekisho

