kobe fashion contest – call for entries

The Kobe Fashion Contest

Deadline: July 18 2014

Who can enter: Anyone from any country

Theme: Your definition of elegance

How to enter: Send an A4 sized drawing with entry form (see here for more info)

Prizes: Entrance to some of the bes school in the world. A full scholarship in Paris, Nottingham or Italy.

Winners from last year. This contest appreciates high technical skill and innovation – see the winners history here.

top_2014

大久保 美彩/Misa OKUBO

Ecole de la Chambre Syndicale de la Couture Parisienne

Second Decoration
Humid Japanese atmosphere and the ornamentation of temples and shrines.

Okubo’s work is exquisite in this piece. I can see he inspiration coming through, but not too literally. Until I knew that her inspiration was found in rural temples and shrines, I wouldn’t have been able to guess, as she has developed her surface design and motifs so much. No wonder she will be going to Paris, to L’Ecole de la Chambre Syndicale de la Couture Parisienne! I hope she gets to study at L’Ecole Lesage, too. がんばって!

01 01a 01b 01c

戸川 大地/Daichi TOGAWA

Nottingham Trent University School of Art and Design

「Innovation」

Ever since my brilliant classmate Tatsuya Tamada won all the contests a few years ago, the work that ends up in the top of  Japanese design contests since then seems to remind me of Tamada’s work…..This peice is wonderful, however and although the lines and shapes remind me of other things out there, I do enjoy the volume and shadows it creates. I don’t know why, but I find it especially daring that the designer attached a collar- perhaps in order to make this look like just another jacket in your wardrobe…?

04 ????????????????????? ????????????????????? ?????????????????????

