200 years of latex clothing – an article

Hello all!

Sorry I’ve been incommunicado for so long. I’ve just taken up a new job and have been looking for a new house so things have been very busy. Add end-of-term business and I haven’t had the time to post anything for you. But I’ve been squirreling away some great articles a resources, though, and I’ll do my best to share them with you in the coming days.

I’ll start with this great article, recently found on Quartz, about Latex, the wonderfully skin-tight, shiny and sweaty material.

Speaking of Quartz, keep an eye on their Fashion page for great articles about fashion and it’s relation to culture, technology and everything else.

Although the article purports that latex is making a move to the mainstream, it is so deeply attached to fetish culture that I fear that it may always be used as a token. With that tokenism, however, comes the ability to use it as a transformative tool and any person who dons the material would be hard-pressed to say that they don’t feel….different….;)

